YSC Holiday Party

Last night I went to Teaism for Young Survival Coalition DC’s holiday party. There was a large group of women there, which was wonderful and sad at the same time. I sat across from a young woman who was diagnosed just 2 months ago and is now in the midst of chemo. She did not seem to be doing well emotionally – she was often unable to put her feelings into words and kept asking if she’d ever be back to her normal self.

I’m in such a different place right now than she is, but I definitely understood where she was coming from. That feeling of being thrown, violently and against your will, into a vortex of doctors, decisions, information, emotions, fears, anxieties, baldness, etc. – it can all feel unbearable and insurmountable at times.

I was at a loss for what to say with her to make her feel better, but another woman at the table said something I thought was really profound: “You will get through this. And, after you do, you’ll be sitting at this table comforting someone else.”

For me, I’m at the “sitting at the table comforting someone else” stage of my experience. But it’s humbling (and infuriating and sad) to know that at any moment, I could be thrown back into that vortex. And I think that’s why I enjoy staying in touch with groups like YSC, because I still need their support.

2 thoughts on “YSC Holiday Party

  1. I just wanted to thank you for putting together your blog and especially for posting your quote from Eleanor Roosevelt. I am also a young breast cancer survivor, diagnosed at 26, and unbeknownst to me a BRCA carrier. I am healthy now- I have chronic pain from my breast cancer surgeries and now mostly screened for ovarian cancer- but feel the same ups and downs as you do. Some days I want nothing to do with the cancer community and just want to forget about the experience all together but on testing and high anxiety days, I am so glad that there are organizations like YSC and Force out there. Anyway, thank you for your post– your quote particularly knocked back from a pity party wave and brought things back to reality. – Trisha in DC

Leave a Reply

