Pageant Queens and Mastectomies

I’ve been MIA lately – sorry about that! Life has been busy and I’ll have some exciting updates to share soon. For now, I’m resurfacing to post a quick article about Allyn Rose, otherwise known as Miss DC, who has recently announced that she’s having a preventive double mastectomy. She does not have BRCA, but her mother died of breast cancer at a young age and she has some other syndrome that she’s claiming makes her risk higher, though my father insists it does not. (I’m sure, Dad, you’ll have something to say in the comments.)

Also, I wanted to share my Twitter handle! Yes, I’m on Twitter. No, I’m not thrilled about it. But, to be honest, I’ve found Twitter to be really fun and a better aggregator of news than any other site I’ve found. I’m @carainthearts. #Enjoy

5 responses to “Pageant Queens and Mastectomies

  1. I don’t even know how I got here! (well, actually I do! I was searching for a Natalie Portman picture!)
    All I want to say it’s that I found your blog (even though I read only a few of lines) very inspirational! And that your hair looks awesome and beautiful! I just wanted to leave a good comment and thank you for being strong =) that’s exactly what this planet earth needs 🙂
    THANK YOU! (from Argentina)

    • Wow – thank you so much! I am planning some travels next year and very much hope to get out to Argentina. It’s great to know I have a supporter there!

  2. I just want to say you are totally an inspiration. I had a preventative mastectomy last month and have had a ton of stupid and rare complications, and then I think about how you kicked cancer’s ass AND dealt with surgeries and all of that and I’m inspired by your awesomeness. So, thanks for that. 🙂 Also I’m going to follow you on Twitter!

    • Thanks so much, Krys. I followed you on Twitter, too 🙂 Sorry you’re having complications – all I can say is that it seems insurmountable when it’s happening, but with time I’m sure things will improve and you’ll look back on this as an experience that made you stronger!

  3. By any chance do you know what that other genetic condition that person has? I wonder if it’s Cowden’s Syndrome?

Leave a Reply

