Quote

Wanted to share this quote that I’m finding particularly inspirational today:

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”
– Eleanor Roosevelt

It so perfectly sums up a lot of what I’m feeling in this moment – the need to go out and challenge myself in ways that I didn’t consider before. After living through a horror, confronting fear, not on my own terms, I am inspired to confront fear on my own terms. Making changes, traveling to strange places, discovering myself – all are scary but all are my choice and controlled by me. There are so many positive changes I want to make that I think I cannot make – because of finances, fear, security, etc. But I can’t let fear hold me back. I was forced to face fear before and I defeated it; now it’s time to take back my life.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Quote

  1. I appreciate what you want to do. And understand. I never had that opportunity or yearning. Straight from college to med school to residency with marriage and kids at the same time. Just be safe and know when to come home. JIS

Leave a Reply

