Word to my parents

Throughout chemo I’ve had a routine. Infusions were every other Thursday. My parents would come down to DC from Philly the night before each infusion, accompany me to my infusion and spend the day with me, then have dinner with my boyfriend and me in DC before piling us all in the car and heading back to my parents’ house. I’d stay there over the weekend until Monday or Tuesday – whenever I  felt well enough to head back to DC and return to my life.

Today, the night before I return to DC after my last infusion, I find myself looking back on the experience fondly… not the chemo, of course, but the time I spent with my parents in my childhood home. This summer sucked in a lot of ways, but I enjoyed the opportunity to be closer to my parents physically and emotionally.

I can’t say this without sounding cliche and cheesy, but it needs to be said because I believe it’s true: I have the best parents in the whole, wide world.

All summer they’ve been nothing short of amazing. They’ve loved me unconditionally, never made me raise a finger, cooked for me, cleaned up after me, entertained me, cared for me like only a nurse and a doctor can, taken me shopping, calmed my nerves, listened to and allayed my fears, let me cry, and, even when things seemed especially difficult, approached everything with a positive and supportive attitude. While I’m sure I would have been able to do this on my own, it wouldn’t have been nearly as easy (or fun – don’t forget the endless games of Hit or Miss… and metallurgy club).

So, while a blog entry is totally inefficient at expressing my true gratitude, I’m doing it anyway: thank you mom and dad for the innumerable ways you have made my life easier and better this year and always.

3 thoughts on “Word to my parents

  1. Knowing the depth of caring that Dr. Jeff & Nancy have towards people, in general, I know that your words are sincere and without any exaggeration, Cara. I agree that you were fortunate to have them so available to you and they wouldn’t want it any other way. I will never forget the time your father sat with my dad, in the hospital, very near the end of his life, and just “listened” to him talk. This was in no way a clinical visit – just a very nice man, caring about his employee and her father. I have always been grateful for his kind gesture.

    Continue with your positive attitude. There are many of us who sit in admiration of you for the way you have handled your breast cancer diagnosis at such a young age. Your strength and courage as you faced each challenge and/or crisis along the way, is to be applauded. As I have said before, I have no doubt that you will be reaching out to others, offering your experience, wisdom and compassion in the very near future. Prayers and thoughts remain with you on a daily basis.

  2. Cara……….What a wonderful tribute to your parents! They surely deserve such wonderful words. You,also, deserve a tribute, because of your courage, your openness and the way you have handled this incredible challenge. No doubt there were very rough moments, But you are through them and you know understand that rough moments present a challenge that you CAN endure! Not fun, certainly, but “get through-able.” We applaud your parents but we also applaud you and Will! We look forward to seeing you sometime in the near future!
    Love, Marlene and Chuck

Leave a Reply

