Oh hey, pretty pictures.

After my diagnosis GWU hooked me up with a “cancer buddy”, a woman who had a similar diagnosis and treatment at the cancer center and was willing to share her experience with me. My buddy, Rina, is wonderful and she is also a great photographer, so I asked her to take some glamour shots of me with no hair. I figured it would make me feel better about being bald, and it would be important to document my experience so I can look back in the future. Rina thought so, too, and may even turn it into a project where she profiles women’s cancer experiences through photographs.

Here are a few of the shots that I particularly love – photo credit goes to Rina. In some of them I’m wearing wigs; we had a lot of fun playing with looks. And PS: I made these files pretty small so they’d upload quickly. Don’t blame Rina for the graininess – the originals are crisp and lifelike!

13 responses to “Oh hey, pretty pictures.

  1. Wow, girl, you got it “goin’ on”! You make bald sexy! I hope you feel as good as you look, Cara. You are my hero! Be well.
    Lots of Love,
    Barbara

  2. You are gorgeous and the picures are beautiful!!

  3. You look gorgeous in all of these!

  4. My adorable daughter! Your pictures show your inner strength also. The background is an unusual choice but works for the situation?
    Beauty and strength in the midst of a decayed wall.

  5. I love these! You look so beautiful! Personally, if you are going to go with a wig, I vote for pink. You amaze me!

  6. Adorable and gorgeous. The last two are my faves. 🙂

  7. Uncle Fred and Aunt Carole

    It’s hard to choose a favorite photo. They’re all so good.
    Love you!

  8. GORGEOUS! I’m telling you, if you got bald headshots not a single casting associate would be able to take their eyes off you.

  9. Great Pics!! I am constantly amazed at your strength and positive attitude.

  10. Cara you are truly AMAZInG!

  11. Cara you look fantastic, I love them! What a wonderful idea.

  12. Love these photos! You are so gorgeous! xoxo We miss you and can’t wait for Hawaii, 2012!

Leave a Reply

