Ain’t no shame in my game

This afternoon I was on the 92 bus home from my art therapy session (yes, I’m meeting with an Art Therapist and it’s been good, but that’s another entry). Sitting next to me was an older woman with a wide-brimmed hat and a wig underneath. An older man across the aisle leaned across to her and said, “That’s a nice hat.” She thanked him, and easily offered up that she had cancer and the hat was to protect her head, plus it made her feel pretty. The man seemed taken aback, like he didn’t really need to know. “It was a compliment,” he said. The woman replied that she understood but still had to share her story and not be ashamed to let people know that she had cancer and that she was bald. “Ain’t no shame in my game,” she said.

I admired that woman and decided I’d make that my mantra for the day.

In other news, I took a quick trip to Paris to visit my friend Liz this afternoon and we visited the Eiffel Tower together!

Ok... I didn't really go to Paris. But I wish I did and this picture is awesome. Thank you PhotoBooth.

One response to “Ain’t no shame in my game

  1. It was so FUN spending the afternoon pointing at the Eiffel Tower with you yesterday! Though I think the Japanese tourists were right to run away in fear because you were WAY bigger than the Eiffel Tower.

Leave a Reply

