Throats Afire

One of a multitude of reasons I’m glad to be FINI with the Adriamycin/Cytoxan: mouth problems. I certainly had them after this last round. On Sunday night, things were going okay when, after dinner, I started feeling a sharp pain in the back of my throat. I had mild mucositis after my other treatments and it was easy to quell with some Advil, but this felt much more localized and sharp. My brother, who is an ear, nose, and throat doctor, took a look and pronounced I had an ulcer, right at the back of my throat. Right where swallowing and talking happens. Joy of joys.

Sunday night was rough. The pain only got worse and even a percocet left over from my surgery wouldn’t make it go away. I woke up Monday morning feeling like crap and basically spent the whole day lamenting my pain and trying to eat the things my wonderful father made for me – smoothies, soup, bread and butter, etc. I tried more drugs, magic mouthwash, other over-the-counter numbing meds – nothing took the edge off long enough for me to want to do anything but sit on the couch and cry.

Needless to say, it was a terrible day. One that you never want to live again – and I’ve been having a lot of those lately. According to my nurse, Taxol has less association with mouth problems, so I’m REALLY hoping this doesn’t happen again.

Today I feel better, though I’m all congested and apparently I have a temperature of 99.9 (that’s according to the thermometer… I don’t feel feverish). Is it really fair that on top of cancer and chemotherapy, people can still get colds? I think not.

I’m supposed to return to DC tonight and then tomorrow night the bf and I have tickets to see Wicked – at least that’s something to look forward to!

 

3 thoughts on “Throats Afire

  1. I just wanted you to know that we are following your every post and wish you better days ahead.Lots of love to you.

    1. That’s a really important study, thanks for sharing. Dr Domchek was my oncologist while I still lived in Philly!

Leave a Reply

