Chemo infusion 1 down

Thank you all for your supportive comments on my last few posts. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – know I have a vast support system of local friends, family, and people who I hardly know throughout the world really helps me through this process!

As you can see from my pictures (go WordPress for allowing you to instantly post pictures from your iPhone!), yesterday was my first chemo infusion. I was pretty freaked out all morning just trying to imagine what it would be like. There was one point in the infusion room when my parents stepped out to get something and I was all alone and I just wanted to cry. But seeing the rest of the people in the room – men, women, some bald, some not – all were calm and helped me to feel calm as well. If they’re not being babies, I don’t have to be a baby either! I certainly was the youngest one there, though.

It took a while between them having to draw my blood, get the med orders from my onco, make sure everything was covered by insurance, start me on some preliminary steriods and anti-nausea drugs, and then all of a sudden, the nurse was over with a syringe of bright red Adriamycin and a bag of Cytoxan. The full course of chemo took about an hour and 15 minutes, and with all the pre- and post-acivities I’d say I was there for a total of 5 hours. Not terrible – and the seats are very comfy and heated!

The rest of the day wasn’t terrible. I felt find for about 2 hours and kept trying to do what people advised me to do – eat frequent, small, nutritious snacks such as veggies and nuts, and drink lots of water. My Nalgene bottle is my new best friend.

Then for the rest of the afternoon I felt a bit “off”. Can’t really describe it in one word – my stomach was a teeny bit queasy and I had a slight headache. It may have also been the fact that it was 90 degrees and soupy in DC, but I just didn’t feel 100%. Not terrible, just not 100%. Then I ended up just feeling really tired when it got dark and I wanted to sleep a lot, so I did.

Today is Friday and I’m off work. After a good night’s sleep, I woke up and took my prescribed steroids and ate a big nutritious breakfast including a smoothie recommended by the naturopathic physician. I feel fine. Again, a little bit off – but I’m beginning to think it’s in my head. Like I expected to feel bad so I do feel bad, a little bit. But I plan on going on a bike ride with my frozen baby daddy right now to keep my energy up, and I’ve slathered on the sunscreen so I don’t get burnt, and for the rest of the day I plan to do a little work from home, relax, and get my Neulasta shot to put my bone marrow into overdrive producing white blood cells.

Neulasta is supposed to cause achy bone pain, so we’ll see how that goes. From what I hear, it’s noticeable, but not anything that can’t be controlled by Tylenol and not anything that would prevent me from doing normal activities.

To be perfectly honest, I’d take pain over nausea anyday. Luckily, I don’t feel much nausea, though!

I’m 1/8 done with my chemo!!! The Phillies won yesterday and the night before in 19-inning craziness! It’s a good day.

One response to “Chemo infusion 1 down

  1. Neulasta is very good: my friend Christine had it throughout her chemo and it served her very well, some achiness did arise especially in the big bones but nothing so terrible and at least you know what it is coming from. Yay Cara , one down, cross it off your calendar.

Leave a Reply

