Mam-o-gram

I realize I have been neglecting this blog, and I am quite sorry. Life is a bit hectic as I recently moved to a new city, started a new job, and took on new activities that fill up my time. I hope to keep this blog going, though, so I’m going to stop making excuses and start making a more concerted effort.

About five minutes ago I got off the phone with a radiology office where I scheduled my first ever mammogram. It is a bit scary, scheduling a medical procedure that you’ve never had before. I wasn’t really sure what to expect, so I did a Google search and found this resource on mammography. Not a bad explanation, but not as good as actually experiencing it. Here’s to hoping it goes well!

2 thoughts on “Mam-o-gram

  1. Good luck with the mammo! I remember going to my first one last year and not knowing what to expect. My sister had said that her’s hurt but others had said it didn’t. Mine was not painful and I asked the tech if there are different machines because my sis said it hurt. She said that some techs are more aggresive than others with the squeezing. But even if it does hurt, it goes very quickly. Usually, you just disrobe from the waist up and put on a gown. Then you stand in front of the machine and the tech manhandles your boob to get it in just the right position, it gets squeezed between two plates and they snap a picture, you are released instantly then they repeat the process for another couple of positions on each boob. It’s a very funny/odd, impersonal kind of feeling when they are just pushing your boobs around like it is normal for someone to be grabbing you like that! Oh yeah, some places offer you a clinical breast exam first. I always turn it down since I get enough of those from all my docs. The mammo is not so bad. The hard part is waiting for the results to come back.

  2. Hi Janine,

    Thanks! That was a thorough explanation, which I very much appreciate. I hear your point about waiting being the worst part… I am definitely scared they might find something and I’ll have to go through a lot more than just a mammogram.

    Best,
    Cara

Leave a Reply

