Dreaming of a Pink October

If it hasn’t already been shoved down your throat, I’d like to remind you that it’s Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great that a whole month is dedicated to breast issues and I am glad that all the publicity is forcing people to think about an issue they may not think about otherwise, but I do wonder if it’s a little too commercialized. Kind of like Christmas.

I read this Newsweek article today, about that very idea: Seeing Red in Pink Products. I don’t necessarily agree with the whole argument, especially the part about companies whose products may cause breast cancer not being allowed to promote breast cancer research. That’s like saying paper companies shouldn’t be anti-cuts because their product may give you paper cuts. It’s kind of silly.

But the whole part about “pink products” simply being a marketing ploy I do agree with. Who knows whether any money is really going to research? Sure if it’s something I was already going to buy, I’d go ahead and get it. But if I see something in a store that I didn’t need, I wouldn’t buy it just because it was benefiting breast cancer research. That’s just me.

Anyone else have any thoughts? I don’t want to seem like I’m attaching BCAM. I’m really not. And it does seem that I notice it more this year because of my little… predicament… and by predicament I mean BRCA. Can we have a whole month dedicated to us? Kthx.

One response to “Dreaming of a Pink October

  1. You’re not the only wondering about the pink ribbon campaign, I think all of us brca bloggers have had something to say about it. I’m glad they are trying to do something, just not sure how effective this campaign is.. not that I have a better idea..

Leave a Reply

