Laughter at Breast Cancer’s Expense

On Friday night I was at a Phillies game with my boyfriend and brother (the same one I wrote about in the last entry). My brother told me that he recently found out he was diabetic, and that my dad was too, but he was apparently being very secretive about the whole thing. So we started to talk about diabetes – what causes it, how to prevent it, whether it’s genetic – all that stuff. My brother said I would probably get it, too. So I said:

“Well, I’ve already inherited breast cancer. What’s a little diabetes on top of that?”

Everyone laughed. It’s important to have a sense of humor about these things every once in a while. That’s one thing I can say for my family, they’re good at laughing at the serious things so as not to be driven crazy by grief.

Leave a Reply

