Hope for the future – PARP Inhibitors

When I first got my BRCA diagnosis, the oncologist in the room (who happened to be a family friend and the man who treated my mother throughout her breast cancer ordeal) kept saying that he was sure they’d find some kind of cure or relief by the time I’d have to deal with the disease. In fact lots of people have said that to me – that considering I’m so young and probably won’t get cancer for another 8-10 years, there’s a lot of time for research that may find a way to reverse BRCA or even cure breast cancer. I’m not sure I’m as optimistic as everyone else, but when I read things like this I do feel a little bit of hope.

This USA Today article is about PARP inhibitors, which are a certain class of drugs that have been shown to deter the growth of tumors, especially triple-negative tumors which are the kind often resulting from a BRCA mutation. I’ve seen these in the news for a few days now, and think it’s probably a good topic to follow for the future.

3 responses to “Hope for the future – PARP Inhibitors

  1. Great blog….PARP inhibitor data looks encouraging. We follow this type of info too..join us on http://www.twitter/theprevivors and Facebook group (The Previvors). Thanks for sharing this info.

    • Thanks for finding me, Lisa. I will definitely check out your Twitter and Facebook group. It’s important that we previvors do all we can for each other!

  2. great entry & great info! check out Living Beyond Breast Cancer’s new blog entry on triple negative breast cancer & PARP inhibitors: http://livingbeyondbc.wordpress.com/

    You can also find us on FB at http://www.facebook.com/livingbeyondbreastcancer

Leave a Reply

